Home > Forum > Categories > Random Tracks > Wet thermoform and gaiters

Wet thermoform and gaiters

• Alan Brunelle
  • [BigSnow]
More
17 May 2005 07:06 - 17 May 2005 07:08 #171716 by Alan Brunelle
Wet thermoform and gaiters was created by Alan Brunelle
I am new to the AT boot (Garmont Mega somethings...) and ran into a problem on a tour a week ago. Since it was relatively warm, I skied only in my long johns and shorts as is typical for me in the spring and summer. I was only slightly annoyed by the debris, both from trees and some snow that was occasionally kicked into the boots on the skin up, but on the way down I picked up a ton of snow since I did a lot of post-holing.<br><br>Forgot the need for gaiters, since my teleboots have been fit with supergaiters for years it never occurred to me. In any case I also do not have gaiters that are large enough to accomodate the upper part of the boot when it is loosened for touring.<br><br>Finally, after almost two weeks, I am shocked to find that the liners are still not completely dry. I did store them in several different orientations so that most of the water easily drained, but it is that last little bit that won't let go. I will hit them with a dryer (cool temp!) but that is annoying, a closed cell foam (hell even a kitchen sink sponge!) will dry faster than that. These liners have been inside my house under typical warm conditions, so I cannot blame leaving them out in the cold humid garage as the reason.<br><br>What do you AT'ers do?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 May 2005 07:24 #171717 by gregL
Replied by gregL on topic Re: Wet thermoform and gaiters
You have the liners out of the shells with the tongues pulled all the way out?<br><br>Put the liners near a heat outlet, or hang them in a warm room with good air circulation. Can't imagine they won't dry out in a day or so.

• Paul Belitz
  • [pbelitz]
More
17 May 2005 07:28 #171718 by Paul Belitz