Home > Trip Reports > May 26-28, 2018, Summit Chief + circumnav

May 26-28, 2018, Summit Chief + circumnav

5/26/18
Posted by Jake the Brit on 5/30/18 2:45am
It's becoming habit-forming, skiing solo, way deep.
I took a pencil with me, I've never done that before but Summit Chief is the always-present prize and I longed to write my name in the register.

No photos, but these are the bits that are indellibly impressed into my memory:
The waterfall that didn't eat my snowboard.
The headwater amphitheater of Lemah Creek.
The east face of North Chimney Rock.
The giant descent under the northface of Summit Chief.

I went up from the Dutch Miler Gap as Franks & I went last year. The terrain above treeline has cliffs with tree families rooted into cracks. The skeletons of the old, edgy dead trees mix on ledges with the verdant living, and in places you can see bleached root-legs exposed on the faces of the cliffs, limbs sinuously clutching up and down. Perhaps the growing roots expand within the vertical cracks, eventually cleaving the rock face apart and boom! The irrigation and soil ecosystem is exposed to gravity and falls away, with that the tree is finished, and old man time...

I lost my snowboard off a cliff just before dinner on day-one as I downclimbed a tricky bit on the south slope, I did plead with reality, but it just ratted off over the horizon, only to perch itself right on the lip of one of those waterfall doom flume holes between snow & rock, the kind you really wouldn't want to end up in. I thanked that waterfall all evening long for not swallowing my deck.

The summit was fabulous.