Home > Forum > Goat Rocks Wilderness beta:

Goat Rocks Wilderness beta:

• Snowolf
  • [Snowolf]
More
15 Apr 2015 01:14 #224405 by Snowolf
Goat Rocks Wilderness beta: was created by Snowolf
I have been contemplating this expedition for a few years and am getting the itch to do it. I hike extensively in the Goat Rocks in the summer and have always imagined the great riding that could be done in the snowgrass flat basin, Cispus basin, goat lake basin and the the Jordan basin not to mention dropping the back side of Old Snowy onto the Packwood glacier and McCall Glacier.

My idea is to skin into Snowgrass Flat from the trail head and base camp for two nights and from camp make day trips up to Old Snowy and then go over into the Cispus Basin. The terrain would be insane and the scenery with snow coverage epic. I would like to take an extra day to follow the rout of the Lilly Basin trail over to Goat Lake, then cross over into the Jordan basin which has some amazing terrain. Possible camp at one of the fine horse camps down in the timber then a quick, easy ride/skin out to Berry Patch trailhead.

I`m going to be talking to the Forest Service at the Cowlitz Valley Ranger station about the roads to see if the road to Chambers Lake/ snowgrass trailhead is open and if not, when. This will be a trial run for a major winter trek I want to do and that is a splitboard trek from Snowgrass all of the way to White Pass ski area.

Ive never read a trip report om this so its got to be something rarely done which is why it appeals to me. If anybody has any beta they could provide about this trip please share. I am very familiar with the area and hike it several times each summer so route finding and knowing the lay of the land isn't a huge issue. Doing it with snow cover is a new experience however. I do hold both a Canadian level 1 and USFS level 1 avalanche cert so am avy savvy and the terrain back there looks very intense from an avy perspective.