Home > Forum > Meidjo telemark bindings: M-TN

Meidjo telemark bindings: M-TN

• Kenji
  • [Kenji]
More
05 Mar 2015 00:30 #224105 by Kenji
Meidjo telemark bindings: M-TN was created by Kenji
As you might heard, there is a new telemark binding created in France.

www.the-m-equipment.com/en/products/bindings

Some us including myself have experimented on combining the tech toe and various heel holding scheme.  This one combines the tech system and the NTN mid-heel, but it is designed and manufactured from scratch.  I'm no mechanical engineer, but pretty impressed how well it is designed and fabricated.

Anyway, I've decided to go ahead and try them myself instead of waiting for a few years.  Can't wait too long when you are getting...  I had to wait over a month for a 2nd batch since they had to make some changes based on some feedback from the first 100 sets.  Btw, there is no US distributor yet.

Installation:
My immediate problem was how to mount them on my skis which have inserts for NTN Freedom.  The hole patterns are completely different with some partial overlap for the recommended position.  Since I wanted to be able to switch between NTN and MTN but without more new holes, I made adapter plates w/ stiff palstic plates and T-nuts.  However, this approach ended up losing the half of the weigh gain since they need 14 screws total.  It'd have been fine for experiment, but ended up just directly screwing to the skis, 10 new holes!  Good thing Cham HM has metal binding plates. 

Here is a pic and the final weight:

Now you can compare w/ Freedom:

The weight difference is exactly 1lb for a pair, which is about 10% of the total.  I'd say it's not that much in practice.  I'd need much light skis to really feel some difference.  Well, I now have a good excuse for a pair carbon skis. Btw, yYu may notice I kept the Hummer heels, that's intentional since I like them best over all others. The Meidjo heel risers don't seem BC friendly, nor Freedom ones.