Home > Forum > Beacon Advice...

Beacon Advice...

• thatoneguydave
  • [thatoneguydave]
More
14 Nov 2014 19:45 #205159 by thatoneguydave
Beacon Advice... was created by thatoneguydave
Hey Gang. Looking for some advice for a new beacon. My old one decided to fall apart over the summer due to battery corrosion and such and I need a new one. I'm not an expert on what is out there or what's the latest and greatest so I thought it would be best to reach out to the community.

Any thoughts or advice on a new beacon?

Thanks.

David

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• the_sleeve
  • [the_sleeve]
More
15 Nov 2014 00:17 #222911 by the_sleeve
Replied by the_sleeve on topic Re: Beacon Advice...

More
17 Nov 2014 16:47 - 21 Nov 2014 21:54 #222917 by Jonn-E
Replied by Jonn-E on topic Re: Beacon Advice...
Very short answer:
BCA Tracker 3

or

Mammut Element

• everestbill
  • [everestbill]
More
17 Nov 2014 17:08 #222918 by everestbill
Replied by everestbill on topic Re: Beacon Advice...

Very short answer:
BCA Tracker 3

or

Mammut Pulse

Whatever the crystal pros are using, buy it call Lisa and find out what she ordered for the pro's and get it,

• Randito
  • [Randito]
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
More
19 Nov 2014 15:40 #222945 by Randito
Replied by Randito on topic Re: Beacon Advice...
FWIW Pieps DSP Sport is rated 5 stars and is $275 vs 4.5 stars and $335 for the Tracker 3. The Mammut Pulse also earns a 5 star rating -- but is $490.

More
19 Nov 2014 21:08 #222946 by r1de
Replied by r1de on topic Re: Beacon Advice...
Forum ate my post. :(

Second vote for the Pieps DSP. And if you're going to compare a few in-person before you buy, try their multiple burial options; most beacons are "about the same" for a single burial, but the really good ones quickly rise to the top when you've got more than 1 signal to search for.

More
23 Nov 2014 10:05 #222962 by JNK
Replied by JNK on topic Re: Beacon Advice...