Home > Forum > Helicopter Rescue Team needs your help!

Helicopter Rescue Team needs your help!

• Oyvind_Henningsen
  • [Oyvind_Henningsen]
More
11 Nov 2013 15:59 #210824 by Oyvind_Henningsen
Helicopter Rescue Team needs your help! was created by Oyvind_Henningsen
I am writing this to ask for your help in saving a northwest backcountry rescue resource.

I am a rescue technician and EMT with the Snohomish County Helicopter Rescue Team. We fly around 80 missions per year in the Pacific Northwest and are in many instances the last resort for people in need. We are a team of 30, 27 volunteers and 3 deputies, that don't hesitate to respond to emergencies. As long as we are patrolling the backcountry there is hope for a swift rescue and transportation to definite medical care. We do not charge for rescues !

Federal funding for helicopter fuel and maintenance was recently eliminated and is threatening to ground us for good. Snohomish County found emergency money to keep the Team aloft through 2014, but after that there is high probability of no money. We seek to cover expenses of $150,000 per year. It is now up to our community to save the Team and SnoHawk 10 (a UH-1H Huey) which have both stood ready 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for the past 40 years. We have been and will be there for our community, now we ask our community be there for us.

We are having a fundraising drive including a casual, social evening with dinner, raffle and auction coming up on April 19 next year. The Mountaineers is graciously hosting us in their main clubhouse in Seattle and we will put on a great evening for all our friends and supporters in the community. See the enclosed Save the Date flier. We are pursuing all avenues for sustained funding for the Helicopter Rescue Team. In the meantime we hope for a strong support from our community.

Check us out on Facebook and feel free to hit donate or buy a cool product on our web site www.supportthelastresort.com.