Home > Trip Reports > 1/27/2012, hwy 2, Surprise Shocker tour

1/27/2012, hwy 2, Surprise Shocker tour

1/27/12
Posted by alecapone on 1/29/12 1:02am
Um....custom heelside reverse camber, or broken?

slice slice...is it skis or a snowboard? or a skiboard? Something soulful about somewhat crafting your own ride.

test day, suprise creek inaguration...calf deep pow on soft crust and avi debris.. not that I felt any crust or cookies on the way down... circa 3,500-4,500

Next days pre dawn start gets early morning sunshines on sparkplug...

Hey Sunshine!!

our destination, Sparkplug's NE 1/2 couloir down to Suprise lake that we dubbed "the shocker"... anybody else ever bother to go out therre and ride this thing? I've been desiring for a few years now..

shocked.....

from suprise lake we toured around to glacier lake, then up to pipers pass, and then finally back to the true summit of sparklug... even the two boarders of the group where able to ride non stop, past spark plug and lil plug lakes, all the way back to Suprise creek for a full decent of almost 2,700' in all POW!

Awesome day..so hard to compare, but for my own reasons this is my favorite day of the season so far. A million thanks to Ben and and my lucky charm Leyland for helping ot make it happen.

Sorry for the photo overload. Figured I'd make up for the lack of photos in my recent reports.

Nice TR Scott! What's the story with that board?

thanks Marcus..

The first board pictured is Kyle's prior that I have been riding broken all year so far. The 'puck' is the only thing that has been holding it together. recent pow days at the Flying Squirrel, aka just above MTR holler, took it's toll.

I bought two solid boards last Sunday from a shop in monroe for a 100$ a piece. By evening I cut them both in half.