Home > Forum > New to Dynafit, advice?

New to Dynafit, advice?

• Alan Brunelle
  • [BigSnow]
More
13 Dec 2004 13:38 - 13 Dec 2004 15:07 #170319 by Alan Brunelle
New to Dynafit, advice? was created by Alan Brunelle
I am new to alpine touring gear.  (Spent many years on leather tele gear, but this year I decided that some of my trips warranted beefier gear.  At least my eyes are stronger than my legs!)<br><br>I bought Atomic TMX, Garmont boots and the Dynafit bindings and put brakes on them.  I tried them out two weekends ago on Heather Ridge (Stevens) and had a mostly good time.  I did learn some things that I had not heard about before and would like some advice from experienced users.<br><br>First, right after a short hike up the road, I stopped to put the skis on and learned that the pin holes had accumulated enough ice to make it impossible to lock the binding in tour mode.  I was able to melt it out by holding my hand and thub against the metal to melt out the holes.  I guess the reply is yes this is a common problem.  Any solutions other than what I learned?<br><br>Second, as I was skinning up some pretty steep knarley sections in trees one ski released.  At this point the binding was essentially fully in the locked position.  I was not too surprised that this happened, but it was then that I realized that in the touring mode, the brakes cannot work!  In general, with skins on the skis I guess this is not the biggest problem, but on really steep terrain the skins won't matter much.  I am inclined to just pull the brakes and use the leashes.  Any other suggestions.<br><br>I know that I will get used to the rig, just hoping that some users can give me a heads up on the foibles to help me get over the hump.<br><br>By the way, though the snow was none too deep, the upper 500 vertical of the slopes held enough snow to pull some nice turns in the virgin powder.  Though I am no parrallel guru at this point, I sure was encouraged by the performance of this setup.  I