Home > Trip Reports > April 5, 2009, Mt. Cashmere N.E. Face

April 5, 2009, Mt. Cashmere N.E. Face

4/5/09
WA Cascades East Slopes Central
Posted by jwplotz on 4/5/09 10:56am
Today just felt epic.  The avy danger was high, but living east of the crest, I'm usually pretty aware of how much snow we get.  The N.E. Face of Mt. Cashmere is like a siren's song to any b/c skier as he/she is headed down Sunnyslope hill outside Wenatchee.  It begs you to ski it, and I've been itching to do it for a few years.  Given the forecast, I wasn't even planning on skiing it today.  However, it felt much colder than predicted.  The skinning offered up perfect bites without the need for crampons.  And the north side of Mt. Cashmere had pillowed powder  that was stable and consistently steep skiing over cliffs.  It's one of the best days I've had and I finally scratched the itch!

I clicked in just below the summit, and skied straight down skier's right for a couple hundred feet, then skied the center of the face, veering skier's right just above the lower cliffs.

After reaching the N. basin below the face, I skinned back up to a col just west of the Black Pyramid and reversed my uptrack, skiiing a few thousand feet of amazing south facing corn back to Pioneer Creek and 8 Mile Road.  I started at 7am and got back to the car at a very reasonable 4.30pm.  There were no slides, nor any sign of instability the entire day despite the warm temps. 

And, I got to drive 60mph driving East back to Wenatchee while the I-90 closure caused gridlock from Leavenworth to as far as I could see up the Blewitt pass hiway.  Sorry if this sounds smug  ;D

I'll post a few photos soon...