Home > Trip Reports > Oct 12, 2008, Mt Baker, Heliotrope Ridge

Oct 12, 2008, Mt Baker, Heliotrope Ridge

10/12/08
WA Cascades West Slopes North (Mt Baker)
Posted by bwood on 10/13/08 2:02am
Hit the parking lot roughly 9:00. Saw another group of three skiers. Two of on board, never been to the area. I'm an amateur climber and partner is only a rider, so we planning to avoid any true glacier travel.
We hiked up, trail had snow-cover/patchy ice above ~4300 ft(estimated alt.)  Left packs at trail-split and went to viewpoint to check out the large crevasses and seracs of lower Coleman(?) glacier. Went back to climber route to right. Made slow progress as we left arm leading to main ridge, trying to determine best route to ride-able field. This was half an exploratory mission. Found a 300 ft snow field that topped out with glacial ice/ mini crevass terminus and bottomed out to patchy rocks. Got ~1500-2000 ft of vert between noon-3. Headed back down. Ride-able snow was above ~5600-6000 of vertical. Another 12-18 inches would really open up longer 1000ft+ runs.  Options would be more open for skiers, but the interspersed rocks were too much for a couple rusty snowboarders. ~500 ft of vert below strap out point had the look of rideable very soon with small rocks and short grasses. Higher fields looked ridable, but interspersed ice(no crampons, partner in hiking boots), and small crecvasses(no helmets, rope, etc.)
Overall, great exploration. Never seen Baker close before(only ridden resort in the clouds). Great weather, sunshine, never got above 60 I'd guess. Few clouds(lenticular) caught on summit towards tail end of day.  I loved the views and getting to understand the lay of the land of the baker area again.
For good turns, I'd recommend waiting for another 12" to open up some longer runs.
p.s. I forgot my camera, but my buddy brought his. Waiting for his e-mail.
Welcome to TAY!  Thanks for the tr.